DUTCH GIRL




Moving out, moving on.

2005-06-13 - 3:34 p.m.

I spent the morning sorting through, packing up, and removing all my shit from the office. There's a fun job, let me tell ya. Note to self: On next job (if I ever have one) don't let personal stuff accumulate in the office, especially not for 17 years.

It was weird and I tried very hard not to get emotional about it. Michelle did all of that for me. She helped me carry all the boxes down to my car and cried as she was loading it all in the trunk.

The hardest part was the last few minutes, when I went into the theatre and took a last look, to say good-bye. I have so many good memories there, despite the bad ones of the past couple of months. It's hard to believe it's not mine anymore.

By some strange quirk of fate, B & M were there (my old bosses, who started the company and passed it on to me, and who are a lot like my "theatrical" parents in a funny way). They had just driven up from California to go to the Banff TV festival and stopped by. They are, of course, very upset by what has happened. I spoke to M on the phone for about an hour on Thursday. It helped to have them there in my last hour in the theatre.

Also talked to the lawyer today. He says this is a bad province to try litigation around employment issues, but we have a game plan and I'm going to see him tomorrow, so we'll see what happens. I just hope like hell I can get some money to get me through the next 6 months, because it doesn't look good for employment before Christmas, and god knows EI won't get me far.

On the bright side, I sure have some good friends who keep calling me to see how I'm holding up.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.