DUTCH GIRL




Catching Up.

2005-07-03 - 1:26 p.m.

The first few days of the new job were pretty good. Just getting acclimatized and all. I have to say, I wish I was making more money, and I'm starting to feel a little panicy about the whole cash situation, but aside from that, I think it's going to be fun and not too hectic, aside from the actual week of the festival. But the lady I'm working for is pretty cool, and Shari has just joined the team, and I'm sure the 3 of us will do just fine.

Thursday turned in to quite the shit show. It was Shari's frist day on the job and we went for a drink when we were done. I was to meet Marcie around 4:30 and she and I had made a date to drink cocktails, eat chinese food and watch season 3 of The Gilmore Girls on DVD. T and Trev also met us at the bar, and we all had a few drinks and decided that we would all retire to our house for chinese. And then Shari and Marcie got into a fight. About something totally stupid, but they're both really pig headed and just kept interupting each other and it got out of hand. Shari threw on her coat, paid the bill and demanded that she and Trev leave. Luckily, we talked her down and we all had another beer and worked it out, and chinese food was eventually enjoyed by all. The boys retired to the basement to play my drums, I painted all the girls toe-nails a lovely new sparkly red I had bought that day, and we plugged in the DVDs.

Shari and Trev left about 10:30 and then the phone rang. It turned out T had confused his gig dates in Penticton. He thought he was leaving in the morning to drive out for a Fri/Sat night gig with his band, when in reality it was supposed to be Thur/Fri. He never does that. The bar owner called and was totally furious. (I can't quite understand why he waited until 11pm to call, but whatever ...) He'd lost about $1200 and he was yelling at T on the phone. T was totally freaked out and mortified, and the call ended up with the guy hanging up on him while he was trying to apologize. Marcie and I spent the next 2 hours trying to console the poor guy. And getting drunk. Ouch.

Friday morning I tried to go to the gym, but discovered some hang-overs cannot be cured by exercise, and after half an hour of lifting weights and trying not to heave, I had to call it quits. Came home and T and I turned the phones off and hid out on the couch, eating comfort food and watching episode after episode of Six Feet Under.

Yesterday, I tried to go to the Gay Rodeo with Kate and Marcie and Shari. First, we got horribly lost in suburbia, which was a nightmare (they've built all these damned new sub-divisions in the way of getting to the ranch where the rodeo was being held and they all look so alike). And then, when we finally found the right way to go, we were driving right into the heart of a really ugly looking storm. The closer we got, the worse the weather looked. By the time we arrived, it was a down pour and it was freezing cold, so we walked around for about 10 minutes and then gave up and drove back into the city, where we headed to a lovely cafe for lunch. No drag-queen clowns for us, apparently.

There doesn't seem to be much more excitement in my future for today. Slept until noon and now T and I are planning to hit the grocery store and the fabric store, so he can buy buttons to mend a suit. Then I think it's cleaning the bathroom and reading our books. Maybe a trip out in the evening for a cocktail or two, if we can get motivated.

Tomorrow should be fun. I have to visit the lawyer in the morning and decide whether or not to pursue the law suit. First and foremost, it involves figuring out what it would cost me if I lost. I had thought I was definatly going to have to drop it and let the evil fuckers win, but my mom wants to give me some money and friends have been talking about a fundraiser, so maybe it can still be done. I hate the thought of rolling over, but it's not like I'm made of money, either. We'll see.

I hope you're all enjoying your long weekend.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.