DUTCH GIRL




Can't afford to shop, but I did!

2005-07-26 - 11:10 p.m.

What a fun-filled few days it has been (for the most part, ignoring a couple of hang-overs and being pissed at R - more on that later).

Folk Festivaling on the weekend was great. Saturday, I took the nephew. He sure had a great time for a not-quite-two-year-old. There was eating and dancing and flirting and playing and laughing with glee. He charmed the pants off everyone he met (not literally, thank god). It was hilarious to see him playing with The Holmes Brothers backstage. They're these fabulous old black guys, often kind of cranky, one usually packing a hand-gun at any given moment, and they were just putty in the hands of my little Brodie. The high-light of the afternoon was watching his little face when we went to one of T's side-stage concerts and he realized that it was his uncle up there making the music. He looked at me with wonder, pointed at the stage and yelled out "T" at the top of his lungs.

Once I'd delivered him safe, sound and exhausted back to mama, I spent the rest of the evening hanging in the beer garden.

Sunday I spent the day hanging with Shanny and we had a lovely time. We heard some great music, did some shopping and drank a couple of cocktails. Shanny and I both bought these lovely baskets from Ghana, I bought a scarf and 6 CDs - Justin Rutledge (my new favorite!!), 2 Mary Gautier, Wilco, The Weakerthans, and Shelby Lynn. So exciting to have a bunch of new music for the car (where I get all my best listening done).

After we left the festival (with much hassle from volunteers when we tried to get to the shuttle van where T was waiting for us, which was behind "enemy" lines, meaning they didn't want to let Shanny in without a pass), we headed to the theatre bar for a couple more drinks. Shanny charged T with helping her find a "musical husband", and we had to determine all the criteria. T and I made the mistake of staying out until 4am, and needless to say, I had to cancel the gym the next morning. First time I've had to do that this year.

I worked Monday afternoon and then went back to the bar to meet up with some friends, including R, who was acting weird and is off to T.O. for a month tomorrow. Ah well, screw him. Maybe a month away will be good for both of us.

Today I went into work for a couple of hours and then had a lovely afternoon with Marcie - non-drinking even! We met at a pub, stuck to pop, played a couple of excellent rounds of Golden-Tee (a video golf game, far preferable to the real thing), spent an hour in the bookstore, where I bought 2 new books - A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (which I'm ashamed to say I've never read) and The Pycho Ex Game, which looks like super fun summer reading. Then we drove around in the car, listening to my new CDs, went grocery shopping, went to the video store, and I drove her home. Then headed home myself to cook a lovely dinner and watch the last 2 episodes of Six Feet Under 3. Man, those are some screwed up people.

And now, it's off to bed to work on finishing Harry Potter. We'll just see what adventure tomorrow brings (although it's mostly work, so I'm not holding my breath).

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.