DUTCH GIRL




My feet are really sore

2005-08-31 - 10:58 p.m.

I'm so tired. And today wasn't even the BIG day. Just the set-up day. It was crazy, though. I arrived on site at 8:30am with a brand-new charged cell phone, which was completely dead by 5pm because it rang all. day. long.

Not kidding.

Often, it would be ringing and another call would be waiting. Like, about every two minutes. I'd guess today's cell phone bill alone would be about $100. I just problem solved every 5 minutes from 9am until 8pm. Non-stop.

But we managed to get everything set-up today the was meant to be set-up today. We were a busy little crew. Site crew. City crew. Rental company crew. Volunteers. TV production crew. RCMP detail planning security for the PM (who they refer to as "the principle" - cracked me right up - they're kinda like the Canadian version of the Secret Service). What a beehive of activity.

Tomorrow is the REALLY crazy day. 8am to midnight. 100 foot cake. Live TV shoot. Mayor, Premier, PM, much security. 3 fully programmed stages. Street performers. 60 vendors. A roving street play. A 5000 person march. A fire juggling show. Fireworks off the top of City Hall.

Just writing all that makes my head spin. I have to go to bed right now so I can survive it all tomorrow. Wish me well. I'll regale you all with some good tales when it's over.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.