DUTCH GIRL




rainy weekend

2005-09-10 - 8:11 p.m.

Yesterday we had my Dad's 70th birthday party. I can't believe he's 70. He doesn't look 70. He doesn't act 70. I guess I think of 70 as really old, and my Dad doesn't seem really old at all. He and his wife are off for a 6 week tour of Europe next week. That's not something a 70 year old does.

It was a nice party. I have to admit I spent most of the evening playing with the nephew. We chased each other around the house for quite a while. He laughed and laughed. There's nothing quite like that full out joyful baby laugh.

I didn't drink anything at the part because my Dad's house is quite far from mine and it has been pouring down buckets of rain for about 24 hours now, and I had promised to drive my Step-mom's elderly aunt and uncle home. So, after leaving the party, I got about 3 blocks from home and decided "Fuck it, I want a beer" so I headed to the theatre bar in the hopes there would be someone to have a beer with. Of course, there were about 20 someones and I stayed out far too late.

This morning was a blessed sleep in late while listening to the rain outside. And then this afternoon, Marcie and I went to a matinee of March of the Penguins. How great is that movie? I had no idea how facinating and complex their whole mating and reproduction rituals are, in freezing cold weather at the Antarctic. Did you know that the males tend the eggs, all alone, for about 2 months? And go without food for 4 months to protect their offspring? Amazing.

Tonight is a lie-in, in my pjs, watching season 2 of Nip/Tuck. Mmmmm .... cute badly behaved men. Perfect for a rainy Saturday night. I think I'll go watch another episode now. Have a lovely Sunday, all.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.