DUTCH GIRL




all the news that's fit to print

2005-09-13 - 4:07 p.m.

I started working on a new play this week. My first gig as a "free-lance" theatre person. It's kind of weird, but also fun. I'm stage managing and co-directing at the same time. It's with this little bitty company, and the pay isn't great, but the play is really good and the cast is really good and it's going to be great, I think (even though it's about someone dying of breast cancer). It's also such a treat to work on something for the first time in FOREVER where I don't have to worry about the time, or the tone. It can be whatever it needs to be.

The only tough part is that we're really nomadic with this piece, not having a rehearsal space. We're at the centre this week, but we have no idea right now where we're going to be next week, and very little money to just rent a space or something. But I'm sure it will all work out. I like this feeling of not having to run a compant any more, I must say.

R phoned me twice yesterday. Once, my phone was off and he left a message, the second time I didn't answer and he didn't leave a message. It seems he's coming home soon. He's been gone for 6 weeks, and I have to say it's been blessedly uncomplicated. We'll see what happens when he gets back, but I've regained some sanity and I intend to hang on to it.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.