DUTCH GIRL




She's back .............

2005-10-24 - 4:35 p.m.

Yes, I know. I've been away for a long time. Doing what, you ask? Just being busy, I suppose.

Let's see ....

Closed the show. It was great. I was so pleased with the work and the response from the folks who saw it was so good. Too bad more people didn't see it. We didn't make our box office targets, but we managed to pay everyone anyhow, so it turned out okay.

Then I went off to beautiful fun-filled Winnipeg for 4 days with my mom. Winnipeg is actually kind of deadsville, but we had fun anyhow. My mom was born there and lived there until she was 7, and both her parents and their families were from there, but she had never been back. She had this scrap book of her mother's concert pianist career (my Grandmother was a child genius as a pianist, playing concerts all over North America starting at the age of 11 and winning all kinds of scholarships to study in Toronto and NY and Chicago as a child) and my mom wanted to donate the scrap book to the Winnipeg archives, so that was the main reason for the trip. She wanted me to go with her, and she offered to pay for the whole thing, so what the hell.

The folks at the archives loved the stuff she brought, which made her very happy. And we wandered through the neighborhood where she lived when she was little and the house she was born in is still there (it was her Grandfather's house, built in about 1880) and the school where she went to grade one was still there and she was so excited. And we did some other sight-seeing and eating out, and shopping. That was cool. My mom has never been a shopper, and has been pretty tight for money most of her life, but she's got a little socked way now and she wanted to spend some, and, god bless her, she shopped like a rock star. Everything was "You want it? I'll buy it for you." I don't think I ever remember that happening before. We spent a fortune in the Forks Market in downtown Winnipeg.

I also got a little business in, by stopping in at a theatre company where I know the Artistic Director. He was there at the time and gave my mom and me a tour of the theatre and gave us free tickets to the show that night, which was COPENHAGEN, one of my favorite plays. It was an excellent production, too. Now I just have to email him back, thank him for the tour and the tickets, tell him how much I liked the show, and hit him up for work next season.

I think that was the most consecutive time I've spent with my mother in about 20 years. We even survived staying in the same hotel room for 4 days. She got up every morning around 6:30 and went off on her own for a while, leaving me to sleep until around 9am. Thank god. Her "morningpersonness" and my love of sleeping late was always an issue when I was a kid.

This week I'm in prep for the show I start Stage Managing next Tuesday. It should be fun. I haven't SM'd a show with a large cast (12 actors) in forever, and it's mostly boys and should be a good time. And just in time, too, as the bank account is pretty much empty. (Hey Shanny - guess who works at Vertigo now, who I just got introduced to today ..... Redford!)

I still have 2 good stories to tell, but that will have to wait until tomorrow, as I need to have some dinner and then rush off to a Dr's appointment at 7pm (who knew my Doctor keeps evening hours 2 days a week). I've run out of prescriptions of EVERYTHING and I think I might be having anti-depressant withdrawl, since I've been out for 10 days now.

Ta Ta for now.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.