DUTCH GIRL




interview questions and a big party

2003-08-26 - 8:45 p.m.

So, here are my five questions for RDG. Others can feel free to play. Just follow the rules listed below.

1. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be and why?

2. Describe the best, or one of the best, days you've ever had.

3. If you could only eat five foods for the rest of your life, what would they be?

4. What person, living or dead, do you think has had the greatest influence on your life to date, and why?

5. If you were to write your autobiography today, what would the title be, and why?

And remember the rules:

The Rules are (should you wish to play):

1. Leave a comment in my guestbook, saying you want to be interviewed.

2. I will respond; I'll ask you five questions.

3. You'll update your Web site with my five questions, and your five answers.

4. You'll include this explanation.

5. You'll ask five other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.

Play on!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

In other news, we had our theatre awards show last night and it was great. 425 people attended, which is a large chunk of the local theatre community. This is our sixth year of presenting the awards and the show just gets bigger and better.

Everyone looked fabulous - kinda like The Oscars. I wore this tight, slinky black velvet dress, sort of chinese in style and five of us ladies all had our hair done for the evening, so I looked pretty good (despite the fact that I had a nasty lip waxing accident on Saturday and had to attend the evening with this big red rash on my upper lip which no amount of make-up could quite cover up). Due to my recent weight loss of 55 pounds, I had people coming up to me all night and telling me how great I looked, which was kind of nice, I have to say. My friend Bob even called me skinny, although I have to say I think I'm still a long way from that. I think "curvy" would be a better term.

The whole evening went off well, despite the fact that the actual awards didn't arrive until about half an hour before the show started, so we had a little stress there.

Shanny did a beautiful speech about why we're all in this crazy business and I was very, very proud of her. She was very nervous about delivering it, but she did so well with her eloquent words and graceful delivery and she moved several people to tears.

At one point, when we were honouring our friend Grant with our version of a "life-time achievement" award, I was struck by how much I love this community and what great, great people are in it. Some truly amazing friends. Okay, a few assholes as well, but what can you do. And the great people far out number the assholes.

After the show, we all moved on to an after party at The Whiskey and drank and danced until the wee hours. My feet were killing me, so I took my shoes off for the better part of the party and when I looked at them this morning, they were absolutely black on the bottom and quite disgusting. I hate to think what I was stepping in all night.

It was a little weird spending the whole evening at a table with T beside me and R across from me, but it worked out okay. I was a little high strung about the whole thing, and R was a little quiet, but all in all, no big deal, thank god.

We're also on the second day of our rehearsals today and holy crap we laughed hard. Despite a number of hang-overs around the room. At one point I thought the back of my head was going to explode from laughing. Nothing like having so much damned fun at work.

I guess I'm a pretty lucky girl to have such a great job that I love so much, most of the time, and to be able to work with people who can make me laugh so hard. Today it doesn't suck to be me.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.