DUTCH GIRL




Saturday night

2004-11-01 - 3:23 p.m.

Just a quick note, as I have to rush off to pick up my car which hopefully has 4 fully functional tires on it now. I certainly think T yelled at them enough this morning to put the fear of God in them.

So the party I was at late Saturday night (or should I say early Sunday morning) turned in to a total shit-show.

Dave has talked numerous times about how he and Tanya have an "open" marriage, but on this particular night I guess he didn't really mean it. Tanya got REALLY REALLY loaded, starting at the bar and then bringing out a big bottle of tequilla at their house, and ended up dancing and doing many body shots with these two guys, one who was an actor of about 40 who was also extremely drunk, and one a young guy of 24 who really didn't know what he was getting into. By this time, there were only me and Tanya and about 9 guys at this party. Next thing I know, Tanya's down to her underwear and all the guys have their shirts off and it's getting pretty seriously horny in the living room. Dave's in the kitchen trying to ignore the whole thing but clearly getting tense. I was actually fairly sober and torn between wanting to go home and feeling like I should maybe stay because it felt all wrong and like it was going to go to the weird place any minute.

A couple of times, Dave sort of grumbled to me about what the hell was going on in there, and I suggested he go in and join in. It seemed more like she was doing it for his benefit than whether or not she was actually going to do the two guys she was dancing with. Eventually, she and Dave disappeared off into the bedroom and I thought - this is good. A couple of the other guys left, I helped two of them find beds and blankets and get tucked in for the night and told the 24 year old he shouldn't drive but I'd share a cab with him.

Just then, Dave comes out of the bed room in a big old fit and slaps the young guy across the face, going on about his friends coming over to his house and trying to fuck his wife. Young Dude is totally shocked and flees outside onto the front porch to wait for me and the cab. Dave grabs me and drags me out on the deck for a smoke and unloads on me about what happened and how he and Tanya had been in the bedroom and she kept going on about how she was going to fuck the two guys she'd been dancing with. I'm trying to calm him down and telling him I think maybe it wasn't about them, but about him and Tanya. Young Dude hears us outside and comes over and he's crying and trying to apologize to Dave and saying how he didn't really know what had happened and he had no intention of doing anything, etc. Eventually Dave calmed down enought to listen to him and let him off the hook a little, I got Dave to go inside, we called a cab, and I took Young Dude home, him crying in the cab all the way and saying it wasn't his fault, how everyone always says it's because he's so good looking (he is, in a pretty sort of way) and how he's never going to go out again.

I got home and crawled into bed at 7:00am. Ouch. Nothing like a little drama to liven up a party.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Home again now, with working tires. Yay. It seems that it was some kind of weird, rare defect that just made the tire fall of it's rim all of a sudden for no reason. But they assured me that they carefully checked all the other tires, so I guess I shouldn't worry. Maybe.

The other interesting thing I did this weekend was direct an episode of the live, improvised soap opera my friends do every Sunday night. Something I've never done before. I've gone and watched several times, but I've never actually done ant kind of improv. But I went last Sunday, and the girl they currently have directing is awful and she's wrecking the whole thing, and I beaked off at great length after last Sunday's episode about how the director needs to understand story and how to make plot move forward and when to break off a scene because it's going no where, and how to give the actors clear, concise direction off the top of a scene, so they have somewhere to start from and some idea of where to go.

Well, me and my big mouth. Monday morning Trevor says "So you want to come guest direct this Sunday?" It's that old put your money where your mouth thing is.

It was actually pretty fun after I got over my huge case of nerves off the top. Thinking on your feet like that for 2 hours is hard freakin' work, put it went really well and the actors and audience had a great time and I think it was the best show they've had all season. Now if only their regular director wasn't going to come back next week and screw it all up again. But I think I have a good shot at getting next year if I want it.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.