DUTCH GIRL




things that make me happy

2003-08-01 - 1:39 p.m.

In an effort to snap myself out of this funk I've been in (T comes home on Sunday night and I need to have my brain back together somewhat), I've decided to write a list of 25 things that make me happy.

Now let's see if I can come up with 25.

1. Shopping (okay, let's get the superficial ones out of the way right off the bat).

2. Looking good, even on days when you feel like crap (today I have on my favorite skirt - black with bright yellow and fuchsia, frilly and flaminco-esque, hair in cute little twisty things on the sides of my head, huge hoop earings, makes me feel much better about life.)

3. Robbie Williams' song "Something Beautiful". - "If you can't wake up in the morning, 'cause your bed lies vacant at night. If you're lost, hurt, tired and lonely, can't control it - try as you might. May you find that love that won't leave you, May you find it by the end of the day. You won't be lost, hurt, tired and lonely, Something beautiful will come your way."

4. My cat wrapping herself around my head and purring like a freight train while I'm sleeping.

5. The company of my wonderful friends.

6. The thought of the arrival into the world, in November, of my first niece or nephew.

7. Really cold Corona.

8. Beginning the journey of a new novel.

9. Receiving flowers unexpectedly (not that that's happened in while, but I live in hope).

10. Driving my car fast with loud music playing on sunny days.

11. Travelling to somewhere new.

12. Having lots of pairs of shoes (half way there and back to shallow again).

13. Stationary stores (anyone who's ever been a stage manager should get that).

14. Getting to the bottom of my "in" basket.

15. Paying my bills and still having money left over in my bank account (again, not often, but I live in hope).

16. Shit - ten more to go ... let's see .... working out really hard at the gym. (Okay, mostly it makes me happy when the work out is over, but it still makes me happy).

17. Crying over a really sappy romantic movie with no-one around to mock me for it.

18. When the new issue of Vanity Fair comes out each month.

19. Discovering $20 in the pocket of the jeans I just washed.

20. Late night phone calls from friends who are far away.

21. Swimming with dolphins. (Yes, I've done that once and I grinned like an idiot for about 3 days after, so that's pretty happy, right?)

22. Laughing really, really hard, until the back of my head hurts.

23. Getting a pedicure.

24. Throwing a kick-ass party.

25. And .. oh yeah, I can't believe I forgot this one ... one of the best days of my life. Sailing on a 45 foot sailboat on the Bay of Bandaras in Puerta Vallarta, staring at the clear blue sky and stunning blue ocean with absolutely nothing to do for 8 whole hours.

See, so many things can make me happy damn it. What doesn't make me happy? People who don't phone me!!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

4:30pm

So, three things from the happy list in the last half hour. Yeah. Drove my car home from work fast, with the sun shining and loud music blarring. Now sipping a very cold Corona and listening to my new Robbie Williams CD.

Holy Snappin' assholes it's hot outside today (okay and in this house, too). There's a big wind blowing and I'm hoping that means it's going to rain tonight. That would save me from having to water the lawn later, which is looking pretty sad and brown.

I found out what "plumbing a bathtub" means. I guess a truly cool chick would already know that, but .... It means, literally, putting the plumbing in for the bathtub. Duh. And it took him until 2 in the morning, which is why he didn't call me last night. And he fucked it up, so he has to go back and re-do it tonight. Maybe tomorrow, he says.

Okay, opinion time. Anyone besides me think I'm a total knob for worrying about whether or not this guy phones me anymore. I know he says he loves me and I know he's really busy, but I seem to come well behind plumbing and golf shoes. Even just as friends, I think I should be expecting more.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.