DUTCH GIRL




Nothing like a slow Sunday.

2004-05-09 - 12:41 p.m.

It was our last day of the season yesterday.

One final play reading, followed by the most lively discussion yet. Once crazy old women said she hated the play because she thought that the playwright (and the "younger generation") were saying that all people wanted to do was find someone to hop in bed with. That's SOOOO not what the play was about. Clearly an issue of her own.

Then our volunteer appreciation party, where we ate munchies, drank punch and handed out gifts to our ancient volunteers. They seem to enjoy the event each year. Too bad it bores the pants of the staff. Oh well.

Then off to Bre's house for an hour or two to finish of the left-over snacks and drink a couple of beers on her roof-top patio.

Followed in the the evening with a party at our theatre bar. Not as many people showed up as I had hoped, but it was nice all the same. Arlene, the cook, wanted to do something nice for us (she's the sweetest woman), so she laid on this big feast. Seven layer mexican bean dip, lettuce wraps with coconut rice, shrimp and peanut sauce, bbq'd pulled pork sandwiches (which were DIVINE!), potato salad with peas, pine nuts and pesto sauce, and banana flambay (how the fuck do you spell that??) for dessert. I ate until I thought I could explode. And was home in bed like a good girl by 1am.

I got up fairly early this morning to start laundry, as I have to pack to leave for Regina for a week on Monday morning. And popped down to the bar to bring the boys a spare VCR I had kicking around, as they're setting up a big screen TV for the hockey game this afternoon. Normally, Jessie wouldn't be caught dead having a TV in the bar, but he's been losing too much money because of the playoff games (my god this city has hockey fever!), so he's biting the bullet and playing the games in the bar.

So ... will most likely head down there this afternoon to catch at least some of the game, before taking my mother out for mothers day dinner and then coming home to resume laundry and packing.

It's snowing today, one of those lovely wet spring snows, almost more like rain. I kind of like this weather, actually. And I'm buzzing from drinking a cup of coffee this morning, which I don't normally do. What possessed me? Maybe the though of all the activity of the day. No restful Sunday off for this girl.

Maybe I'll get to rest and relax in Regina. What else is there likely to be to do?

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.