DUTCH GIRL




Home again, home again.

2004-05-18 - 11:46 a.m.

I'm back.

Yay!!!

Actually, it wasn't so bad in Regina. Once I got used to it. I realized that I've rarely been in the position of having to go off to a strange city and work in an environment where I don't really know anybody. I guess actors do this all the time, but I do almost all of my work here and I'm used to knowing people. So it was tough at first. I got all shy and insecure. But I got more comfortable as the week wore on and I got to know people.

And they were really good people. They have a lovely community of really fine actors and playwrights there, and the poor people hardly ever get any work. There are only a couple of professional theatre companies in Saskatchewan, and they don't hire the local people very often. It's sad. But I was quite impressed with the people I saw and would love to bring some of them out here to work if I can.

I was pretty tame the whole time I was there. Hardly drinking at all, and going to bed at 11:00 every night. It was a nice little rest/time-out from the crazy world I have going here.

Which I made up for in spades on Sunday night.

I got home around 3pm, had a cab driver swing me by my house to drop off my luggage, and went to the theatre bar to watch the last of the hockey game. It was good to see my friends and to know that people missed me.

We stayed far, far, far too late and drank way too much beer and tequilla. At one point I turned into some kind of 14 year old girl, having a big old crying jag in the bathroom. Geez ... I won't even go into what it was about, cause it was just stupid and I hate myself when I behave that way. Thank god I got over it. That's where the tequilla came in to play.

By about 3am, there were about 8 of us left in the bar and we were all possessed by the spirits of crazed Mexicans. The cab ride home is a little fuzzy, and I ended up having to call in sick to work yesterday. Not a good thing, as I have an absolute TON of work to get done in the next couple of days.

We have our year end Board meeting tonight and I'm busy trying to cut another $40,000 out of the budget so it can be approved this evening. Fun times. Then I just have to finalize next season's line-up, hire a General Manager, and get the renovations under way.

No wonder I come home and start drinking like a fish right away. I really need a simpler life, but I don't think it's in the cards for me.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.