DUTCH GIRL




It didn't turn out like I thought it would, but it was a good day.

2004-10-21 - 12:02 a.m.

Okay, that was a truly GREAT baseball game!

T and I were all set to go to the concert that we had tickets for tonight, and then the game was 6-0 and we just couldn't leave the bar. We HAD to stay and watch. As T said, "We can go to a concert any time, and I'm sure we'll have a chance to see this particular artist again sometime, but how often are we likely to see baseball friggin' history?" So right. Se we stayed, had some dinner and a couple of beers, and cheered our heads off. It's amazing to see how many people here in the frozen north of Canada are cheering the Red Socks along. Maybe it's just because we have no hockey this year ....

It was a delightful evening, although I got no reading of grant proposals done, and I have about 80 of the damned things to do before next Wed. I have evening shows tomorrow and Friday, so I guess I know what I'm going to be doing all weekend. Bleck. I just keep reminding myself of the $800 they're paying me to do this gig.

And in honor of the pending extra $800, I stopped on the way from work to the bar this evening and bought myself $50 worth of new make-up from the MAC counter at the Bay, including some really pretty purple eye shadow that makes my eyes look really green. Who knew? I never thought I'd buy purple eye shadow.

I had the most interesting meeting this afternoon with this young man from Columbia. He's only been in Canada since February. He's 19 years old and he's just learned english. But he's so passionate and he knows what he wants to do with his life (be an actor, write theatre, form his own company) and by the end of the 45 minute meeting, I found myself offering to create a volunteer position for him with my company to help him out. I just can't resist the cute Hispanic boys, especially when they're passionate and articulate about what they want to do (theatre) and when they offer to give me free Spanish lessons in return.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.