DUTCH GIRL




My weekend.

2005-05-30 - 4:33 p.m.

I think I like those 4 day weekends a lot better. Time to do stuff and time to do nothing. That's what I need every weekend.

This one was chock-a-block full of activity. Friday night .... um, geez, can't remember Friday night. Oh yeah. I did general auditions all day (saw 26 people, much like doing 26 20-minute job interviews) and then was exhausted and flaked at home.

Satuday morning I got up early and went to the gym. Yay me! And then rushed home, ran through the shower and out the door to meet my sister and take my nephew to the Kid's Fest. That was a blast. My sister stayed around for the first 1/2 hour and then snuck off when the little guy wasn't looking, to have some time for herself, and T and I spent the rest of the morning and the early afternoon playing with, indulging, spoiling and generally loving the nephew. He only cried like his world was ending for about 3 minutes when he realized mom was gone, and then he had a great time. We ate popcorn and strawberry ice-cream - none of the healthy snacks his mom packed, and bought toys and watched crazy children's singers, and wandering trolls, and much more, before he crashed in my arms and had a nap.

I tell you, there's nothing much better than having an 18 month old fall asleep in your arms. The total trust is amazing. I'm digging this Aunty thing. The best of both worlds in many ways. I love him to death and get to spoil him and play with him and then give him back to his mom. It makes me feel better about the no-kids decision (well, not totally a decision, I did the fertility thing and would have had to spend a fortune on invitro to try to get pregnant and just didn't want to go there).

The 3 of us had a blast and then I handed him back and we wandered home. T had to go out of town for the evening for a gig. I had a little nap and then met Glenda to go see a play, followed by a couple of beers at the usual place. We didn't stay too long, as this guy I know was there and very drunk and latched on to us and we got tired of baby-sitting him after about 2 hours, so I drove Glenda home and got home just around the time T arrived back. We sat up watching Austin City Limits until about 3 and then headed to bed.

Despite the late hour of turning in, I woke up about 8:30 in the morning on Sunday and couldn't get back to sleep, so I got up about 9 and went to run a few errands. I like grocery shopping Sunday morning when the store is quiet. I got home about noon and T gardened while I did some house cleaning and some laundry and then we BBQ'd an excellent dinner. Afterwards, I had to run off to the theatre bar for an hour for a little meeting, but came home again around 8:30 and we watched a movie, followed by early to bed, so as to be at the gym again this morning.

Today has been a run-around-have-lots-of-meetings kind of day and I'm happy to be heading home in the next few minutes. Lots to do in the next few days, before I head to Banff for 5 days for a conference. And I thought that summer would be slower. Ha!

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.