DUTCH GIRL




Friday Five

2003-08-08 - 9:02 a.m.

I'm trying the "Friday Five" for the first time today:

1. What's the last place you traveled to, outside your own home state/country?

San Fransisco, in June. T and I went for a week, for my step-sister's wedding. I love that city. The weather was amazing (I'm used to going there in December or January). We were even able to sun-tan by the pool at our hotel. Before that, the last place we went was Havana, last January. That was an amazing trip. What a facinating, sad, beautiful, screwed-up country.

2. What's the most bizarre/unusual thing that's ever happened to you while traveling?

Hmm ... Let's see, there was the time, when I was 13 and traveling down the Rhine River in German on a four day cruise with my father and grandfather. One of the hunky Italian waiters invited me and another young girl to attend a party in the kitchen late that night. We stayed up after most of the guests (who were mostly over 50) went to bed and wandered into the kithcen where we were greated by about 30 Italian, Fench and German staff and crew, most of them in their underwear and a couple of them shooting something that looked suspiciously like Heroin. One guy was wandering around in a bed sheet and nothing else, looking for someone to take a dip in the pool with him. I quickly returned to the safety of my own cabin for the night, being just a little too young and naive at the time. I'm amazed, now that I think about it, that they all didn't get fired.

3. If you could take off to anywhere, money and time being no object, where would you go?

There are some beautiful islands that I've had my eye on, in the Caribean or the Philipeans. I'd also love to go to Portugal and Morocco.

4. Do you prefer traveling by plane, train or car?

I prefer train or car, but almost all of the good places to go require a plane ride, so I suffer through.

5. What's the next place on your list to visit?

Hopeful, England in September for my step-brother's wedding. It seems to be the year of weddings and babies.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.