DUTCH GIRL




all about my health

2003-08-14 - 1:26 p.m.

Dear Diary -

Had a little good news yesterday that I'd like to share with you.

I went to my Doctor's yesterday. I though I was just getting results on my last round of blood tests (I get tested every three months, due to the diabetes thing), but it actually turned out to be a big ol' full-blown yearly physical - which means that it was about one year ago, after my lasy physical, that I found out I was diabetic. At that time, my blood sugar (you know that 12 hour fasting test they make you do) was at 19.5 That's really friggin high. A normal person's blood sugar should be between 4 and 7. A diabetic with a healthy blood sugar should be between 5 and 10 (depending on whether it's before or after a meal).

The test I have done every three months is called a Hemoglobin A1C. It tells you what your average blood sugar level has been for the past three months. Mine was at 5.8!!! That's the LOW END of NORMAL. My doctor was over-joyed. And my cholestrol was excellent, way down as well. She said she was amazed I could have brought it down that much without cholestrol medication. And my official weight-loss to date (since the end of last September) is 52 lbs. Woopee!!!!!!!

The only down note is that my doctor wants me to go on anti-depressants for a while. I don't know if I want to do this or not, so she said to think about it and get back to her. She wants me to try Celexa, along with some counciling for my disaster of a marriage. I think the counciling is a good idea, although I have my doubts about what can be fixed. We'll see.

But I'm really happy about the health thing, which is why I celebrated yesterday by having a 6 beer lunch.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.