DUTCH GIRL




The universe is trying to hurt me!

2003-08-18 - 1:09 p.m.

I knew this lack of sleep thing was going to catch up with me at some point, and it sorta happened last night at volley ball. I became "accident waiting to happen" girl.

First game, right off the top, I took a ball straight to the face, right off this guy's power serve. Thank god I had a ball cap on, because I think the brim blunted the impact somewhat. Nothing scarred or broken, not even a bloody nose or a black eye, but my forehead hurts like stink today.

Then, this wasp decides to totally attack me. I think he was attracted to my hot pink tee-shirt, plus maybe some product in my hair. He (for some reason, bad annoying bugs are always "he" to me) started buzzing my head, flying into my hair and trying to get in my ear. I was trying to concentate on playing the game while doing this crazy little "get-this-wasp-the-hell-away-from-me" dance and finally had to step out of the game and run around the court trying to lose this really persistant wasp.

And then, I ran out into the grass to get a run away ball and narrowly avoided (by about 6 inches) stepping into the middle of a crushed beer bottle just waiting there to rip my bare feet to shreds.

AND THEN, I sprained my baby finger, not once, but twice, during the fourth game. I don't think I should be allowed out of my house until I've had some proper sleep.

Even last night, after 4 volleyball games and a couple of hours of sanding and dry-walling at the bar, I still woke up, like clock work, after 5 hours of sleep. I've never had trouble sleeping before in my life, but it may be time to call in the big guns, the "sleep aides".

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.