DUTCH GIRL




A voice that soothes your soul.

2003-11-09 - 10:52 a.m.

We went to the best concert last night. Cesaria Evora. She's this totally amazing singer, kind of latin/jazz/french/edith piaff I don't know what. From South Africa, I think, although she sings in French and Spanish and I think maybe Portugese. She's 77 years old, doesn't speak of word of English, and smokes 3 or 4 packs of cigarettes a day. And she has a voice like velvet (not to mention a band of 6 really cute young guys who were hot and hot muscians, too). At one point she let the band play an instrumental while she sat down on Stage at a little table and had a smoke. You don't see that much anymore at concerts in fancy concert halls. We had the best seats, too. About 8th row, smack in the centre. Shanny, Esther, Shari and I went, kind of a girls night out, and we loved, loved, loved it. Sadly, I stayed out much too late after, enjoying my great music high. So now I'm off to rehearsal feeling a little shakey once again. But not before Shanny and I pay a visit to the wool store this morning. I'm nearly finished my second scarf and ready to try something more daring. And suggestions?

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.