DUTCH GIRL




What the heck am I talking about?

2004-02-24 - 12:42 p.m.

I watched LOST IN TRANSLATION last night. What a beautiful movie. Bill Murray was heartbreaking and wonderful. He so totally deserves the Oscar.

The movie made me think a lot about connections. Those moments in life when you connect to another human being in a really profound way. Those moments don't happen very often, and we don't honor them enough, most of the time.

I think I've felt that kind of connection to another person maybe four times in my whole life. Two of those four people are now gone. One of them died and the other has been lost to me in a sea of alcohol and heroin.

I might be losing one as we speak, due to my own craziness and insecurity and his fears.

Thank god I'll still have one person left in my life I feel that connection with. You know, a person who just "gets" you. And you get them. They love you for your best and your worst moments equally. Their very existance just makes you smile.

The saddest thing is that this person isn't T. He loves me with all his heart, but I've never felt that he really got me. Not in that profound way. We're comfortable, we're great companions, but we don't have a real soul connection.

Or, who knows ... maybe I'm just full of shit. But it was a really good movie.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.