DUTCH GIRL




Passing.

2004-03-24 - 11:25 a.m.

So many of my friends have lost their fathers this year. Chris's dad passed away in the early fall, then B's dad, and this morning, my dear Barb lost her father. He was fading away and they knew it was going to happen any day, but it's just so sad. She called me this morning and told me she was still going to come in and do the show today. She felt okay (some relief, in fact) and felt her dad would want her to go on with her life. I don't know if I could do that. It makes me think about what it would be like if I lost my dad. Wow. I can't even imagine. Thank god he's healthy and hearty at the moment. It's a weird realization that we reach a point in our lives where our parents, the ones we've counted on to kiss our boo-boos better and make everything okay all of our lives, need us to be there for them, to make it okay for them to let go. And that we're really and truly adults when they're gone. I don't want to loose my parents, but it's going to happen one day.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.