DUTCH GIRL




Charisma!

2004-04-03 - 2:00 a.m.

I met up with one of my most favorite people in the world tonight.

You know, those people who just make you feel good about life, who just make you feel lucky to be alive?

She's the largest women - large in body, large in spirit, large in heart, large in soul ... oh, and did I mention, large in voice?

She got up and sang "Send Me Somebody To Love" with T's band, and she completely enthralled the room. It's amazing to me to watch how she makes everybody in her presence fall in love with her. The boys in the band are her slaves. The audience is completely under her spell. She just sang the one song and came and sat back down and people flocked to our table for the rest of the night to tell her how fucking amazing she is.

I wish I had her secret. That thing that makes others (including me, of course) just want to bask in her presence. A pretty average night was made grand by the fact that she was in town and decided to drop by T's gig for an hour. What is that? A sixty year old black woman who can make you feel blessed just to be sitting at the table with her?

Lord, gimme some o' that.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.