DUTCH GIRL




The dangers of a liquid lunch.

2004-12-14 - 2:36 p.m.

I guess going for "lunch" at 1:30 in the afternoon, and there being no actual lunch, just a million beers, really wasn't the brightest idea I've ever had in my life. But it sure was fun at the time. R and I haven't had an afternoon like that in a long time. Lunch lasted until about 7:30 at night, when we were both totally hammered. We just sat there talking and talking and it was great. We even managed to talk a little about the Lobster Night, how we were both worried that the earlier part of the evening had been so totally wonderful and we had enjoyed each other's company so much, and we were both worried after that the drunken naked high-jinks of the later part of the night were going to put our relationship right back into the weird place, when we've worked so hard to get it out of there. But it didn't. We both agreed last night that we feel that nothing can really wreck us now. We're stuck with each other and in each other's lives for good now, no matter what happens. We talked a lot about how we just fit. We also talked about his fear that if we were ever a real couple, we would wreck each other, but I told him I didn't believe that. We also talked about the power and seductiveness of a person who loves you exactly for who and what you are and who doesn't want to change you.

This morning was rather painful, but I managed to haul my sorry ass out of bed at 7:30 and make it to work, on time and semi-functional at least. R scolded me for being a bad girl last night, forcing him to drink the last 3 or 4 beers (okay, I didn't actual pour the beers down his throat or anything, but I did keep ordering them behind his back), but we had a good laugh and he dragged me downstairs for one medicinal beer after the show this afternoon. I have to admit that it did make me feel a lot better. That, and the sad sorry fact that Claire came to see the show today, but he stayed around after and had a beer with me instead of going to lunch with her and her girlfriends.

Now, a couple more hours of work to get through and then some long overdue Christmas shopping (I've done exactly none so far) and then it's home on the sofa in pjs watching TV for this gal.

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.