DUTCH GIRL




festival, festival, festival

2005-08-26 - 7:01 p.m.

The festival is officially EATING MY BRAIN.

There's so much to do between now and Sept. 1st, I can't believe I'm ever going to get it all done. And the damned thing just keeps getting bigger and bigger.

It started out as this nice little street performers festival, but now, because of the provincial centennial on the 1st, it's crazy time. We have way too much shit going on, and so few people to do it all. And just yesterday, we discovered that the Prime Minister is now going to be there, as well as the Premier and the Mayor, so that just adds so much more complication. I was fielding phone calls from the Prime Minister's office all afternoon. Just so he can come cut some cake and hand it out to "the folks". As Shari said "Cool, that's one less volunteer we have to find".

Did you know the Prime Minister travels with his own bullet-proof podium? I didn't.

And they're doing these fireworks off the roof of the municiple building, 8000 low-level bursts. That's a lot of fireworks in 15 minutes. We're likely to have a lot more people than my 25 portapotties can support.

My life is just doing this and coming home and sleeping (oh yeah, and on Monday there are the big professional theatre awards - I haven't even really thought about that at all, lord knows what I'm going to wear). Tonight, however, I'm going out for a drink at 9. Shari and I have decided to meet at the theatre bar for a "lets go over details and see if we missed anything" meeting, in what we're now calling "the war room".

I'm not conplaining though. Really, I'm not. I do kind of love this work. It's all crisis management, which I excell at, and whatever happens, by Sept. 4th, it's all over. So, I'm good. Just tired and up to my eyeballs.

Weeeee .............

Vorig - Daarna

Layout by Neko.